Wimbledon Championship – Tennis

The Championships, Wimbledon, commonly known as “Wimbledon”, is the oldest tennis tournament in the world, and is widely considered the most prestigious. It has been held at the All England Club in Wimbledon, London since 1877. It is one of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments, the others being the Australian Open, the French Open and the US Open. Since the Australian Open shifted to hardcourt in 1988, Wimbledon is the only major still played on grass.

The tournament takes place over two weeks in late June and early July, culminating with the Ladies’ and Gentlemen’s Singles Final, scheduled always for the second Saturday and Sunday respectively. Five major, junior, and invitational events are held each year. Wimbledon traditions include a strict dress code for competitors, the eating of strawberries and cream by the spectators, and Royal patronage. The tournament is also notable for the absence of sponsor advertising around the courts. In 2009, Wimbledon’s Centre Court was fitted with a retractable roof to lessen the loss of playing time due to rain.

2015 Gentlemen’s & Ladies’ Singles Prize Money
Category Amount each Increase from 2014
Winners £1,880,000 7%
Runners-up £940,000 7%
Losing semi-finalists £470,000 7%
Losing quarter-finalists £241,000 7%
Fourth round losers £127,000 9%
Third round losers £77,000 8%
Second round losers £47,000 9%
First round losers £29,000 7%

Ranking points

Ranking points for the ATP and WTA have varied at Wimbledon through the years but at present singles players receive the following points:

First round 10 10
Second round 45 70
Third round 90 130
Fourth round 180 240
Quarter-finalist 360 430
Semi-finalist 720 780
Runner-up 1200 1300
Champion 2000 2000