French Open – Tennis

The French Open, often referred to as Roland Garros (French: [ʁɔlɑ̃ ɡaʁɔs]), is a major tennis tournament held over two weeks between late May and early June at the Stade Roland Garros in Paris, France. Named after the French aviator Roland Garros, it is the premier clay court tennis championship event in the world and the second of four annual Grand Slam tournaments, the other three being the Australian Open, Wimbledon and the US Open. Roland Garros is the only Grand Slam event held on clay and ends the clay court season.

Because of the slow-playing surface and the five-set men’s singles matches without a tiebreak in the final set, the event is widely considered to be the most physically demanding tennis tournament in the world.

Prize money and trophies

The prize money awarded in the men’s and women’s singles tournaments
is distributed equally. The total prize money for the 2015 tournament is
AUD $40,000,000. In 2015 the prize money is to be distributed as

Event W F SF QF 4R 3R 2R 1R Q3 Q2 Q1
Singles Prize money $3,100,000 $1,550,000 $650,000 $340,000 $175,000 $97,500 $60,000 $34,500 $16,000 $8,000 $4,000
Doubles Prize money* $575,000 $285,000 $142,500 $71,000 $39,000 $23,000 $14,800
Mixed Doubles Prize money* $142,500 $71,500 $35,600 $16,300 $8,200 $4000

* per team

Note: All amounts in Australian dollars. (The winner’s prize money
approximates to GBP £1,686,000; EUR €2,195,000; USD $2,547,000.)

On 4 October 2011, when they launched Australian Open 2012, the
tournament director announced that the prize money was increased to
A$26,000,000. It is the highest prize money for a tennis tournament. It
was announced the prize money will be increased to AUD $40 million from
2015 onwards.

The names of the tournament winners are inscribed on the perpetual trophy Cups.

  • The women’s singles winner is presented with the Daphne Akhurst Memorial Cup.
  • The men’s singles winner is presented with the Norman Brookes Challenge Cup.
  • Australian Open was voted the best tennis tournament in the 2013 Tennis Magazine.

Ranking points

Ranking points for the men (ATP) and women (WTA) have varied at the Australian Open through the years but presently singles players receive the following points:

Event W F SF QF 4R 3R 2R 1R Q Q3 Q2 Q1
Singles Men 2000 1200 720 360 180 90 45 10 25 16 8 0
Women 2000 1300 780 430 240 130 70 10 40 30 20 2
Doubles Men 2000 1200 720 360 180 90 0
Women 2000 1300 780 430 240 130 10